Dodge This! … The Awesomeness that is Adult Dodgeball

Ever miss being a kid? I do. However, when I was a kid I couldn’t wait to be a “grownup.” I feel it’s one of life’s great ironies, that when you’re young you don’t have the perspective to appreciate how good you have it; no major life decisions to be made, no bills and your greatest responsibilities include math homework and taking out the trash. As a kid, your body is resilient, you quite literally can bounce, you shake off sprains and colds as quickly as they come. I’m far from “old”, yet things, well they hurt more. A week ago I jammed my pinky finger (on what else, a dodgeball) and the darn thing still aches. The arches of my feet cramp, my back creeks, everything pops, man getting old sucks. So it’s with the nostalgia of simpler times that I don funny outfits and throw rubber balls at people across a basketball court.

Dodgeball is fantastic!! It’s pairs the simplicity of being a kid (the ball hits you and you’re out), with a competitiveness that rivals any team sport. There are strategies for playing as a team, both in defense and offense; we work up a sweat playing dodgeball. I’m not generally a violent person, but what a release from your day’s stress it is to go out and throw balls at people!

For more information on local dodgeball leagues check out www.dodgeball4ever.com. There are both beginner leagues and advanced, but most importantly, for 50 minutes a week you can release your inner child and just have some good old fashioned fun!

Leave a Reply

