Not just another dodgeball post: Families Uniting Families 092911

On September 29th, in an effort to promote family fun and togetherness, Families Uniting Families held their 4th Family Game Night. And just when I thought I was going to have a non-dodgeball blog, what did they play most the night?? … well dodgeball of course!! What says family fun and togetherness more than throwing balls at each other?!

My favorite memories of my childhood involve simple moments with my parents: playing checkers, while watching football on my dad’s bed, riding bikes on an overcast Sunday to the park with my mom. Family Game Night gives families a stage to build those special memories on, during a time in a child’s life that vanishes in a blink. In honor of the late Steve Jobs, this quote feels very fitting, “When I was 17, I read a quote that went something like: ‘If you live each day as if it was your last, someday you’ll most certainly be right.’ It made an impression on me, and since then, for the past 33 years, I have looked in the mirror every morning and asked myself: ‘If today were the last day of my life, would I want to do what I am about to do today?’ And whenever the answer has been ‘No’ for too many days in a row, I know I need to change something.” So if you can, take a moment out of your day to do something important, hug a child… or throw a ball at them!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.



Families Uniting Families has been serving children in Los Angeles County and Orange County since 2004. They are known for providing excellent care and treatment to children who suffer from abuse and neglect. Families Uniting Families cultivates nurturing and knowledgeable families to protect and enhance the welfare and stability of vulnerable children and their families so that they are able to live productive and meaningful lives.” If you live in the Long Beach area, Families Uniting Families is a great organization to get involved with, either as a volunteer or as an attendee.

For more information about Families Uniting Families, call (562) 437-4114, contact info@familiesunitingfamilies.org or visit the Families Uniting Families web site at http://www.familiesunitingfamilies.org.

Leave a Reply

